Crabmeat “ravioli” with pancetta and leek

The meal was based on something Wolfgang Puck made on Iron Chef America – Battle of the Masters. The sauce is my best approximation to what he made. I don’t remember what he filled his ravioli with; ted_badger was in the mood for crabmeat tonight.

Both the sauce and the ravioli have leek in them. The leeks at the store today were huge, frickin’ huge even. So I cleaned and diced up the white and light green part of just one leek. I’d guess it was about 2 cups. This was cooked in little grape seed oil for about 7 minutes. I removed the leeks to a dish.

I then combined 6 oz. of imitation crabmeat (it’s inexpensive and there are no bits of shell to worry about) with about 2/3 cup of the cooked leeks, 1/2 cup of a grated parmesan/romano cheese blend and a teaspoon of ground coriander (salt + pepper to taste). I then formed the raviolis using wonton skins, using a bit of egg white to bind the edges. I used 2 skins per ravioli, one for the bottom and then a second for the top. I used about 2/3 of the filling, making 15 raviolis.

Once the ravioli were complete I julienned 4 oz. of pancetta and cooked it over medium heat until it had some good color, maybe 5 minutes. I added the leeks back in to reheat, tossed about a 1/4 cup of the cheese blend in and then added about 1 cup of heavy cream. I also tossed in the remaining 1/3 of the filling. After stirring to combine I turned the heat down a notch.

I tossed the ravioli into a pot of salted slightly boiling water. A bit of a miscalculation here as the water didn’t have enough heat in it to come back to a boil quickly. The raviolis took about 4 minutes to cook. In the future I’ll bring it to a rolling boil and then lower the heat just before adding the pasta.

While the pasta cooked I notice the sauce had thickened a bit more than I wanted so I added another 1/2 cup of heavy cream (so 1.5 cup total). Once the raviolis were done I added them to the sauce, tossed to coat and then plated.

We both agreed that they were a bit salty, mostly likely due to the amount of parm/romano cheese blend. We’ll cut that down in the future. Nonetheless the dish was quite tasty and very filling. Two forks up.

Leave a Reply

