Saturday night – 09/01/2007

I asked one of the Saturday Night regulars what we should have for dinner and she suggested manicotti. So there you go.

Menu
Baked Manicotti (recipe from Cook’s Illustrated)
Grilled chicken breast
Sauteed cousa squash with red peppers
cherry tomatoes (at least that’s what the farm stand claimed – they were the size of golf balls)
Brown sugar cookies for dessert

Notes
Most of the recipes I found online wanted me to make crepes first and, I’m sorry, that’s more work than I’m interested in doing for a bit of pasta. The recipe I used suggested using no-bake lasagna noodles. You soak them for about 5 minutes in just boiled water to make the pliable. Spread the filling, roll, place in a pan and repeat. Cover the manicotti with sauce and bake. They came out quite well if I do say so myself.

The lesson I learned was that the noodles will stick to themselves if you try to soak the whole package at one time. Luckily I had extra noodles on hand and, with patience, prepared the second batch without any casualties.

Leave a Reply

