Saturday night – 09/15/2007

Since Ted and I were going to be away most of the day I wanted a main course that wouldn’t take a lot of time. Enter the crock pot (see notes below for more info).

Pumpernickel Roast
Buttered egg noodles with parsley
Sauteed zucchini
Roasted cauliflower

Homemade rustic boule (yeah!)

Pumpkin pudding

Notes

The pumpernickel roast beef recipes comes from a slow-cooker cook book I picked up some years ago. The “pumpernickel” flavor comes from caraway seeds and stout as a cooking liquid. I couldn’t find the cut of beef the recipe called for (sirloin tip) so I went with a chuck roast. It was good but a bit dried out.

The roasted cauliflower seemed a bit over cooked to me though most others ate it up and there were no left overs.

One 16 oz. package of egg noodles will feed 6 adults and 3 children despite what the bag indicates (12 servings, I think not).

 

Leave a Reply

