Saturday night – 12/22/2007

I found chicken breasts cheap this week so that was the protein of choice for the Saturday night meal this week. Here’s the menu.

Soy-Sherry marinaded baked chicken
Toasted Corn & Sage Harvest Risotto
Steamed broccoli

Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting to celebrate Joe’s birthday

This was a very satisfying meal. The soy-sherry marinade came out of the Joy of Cooking. Basically it was 1/2 c soy & 1/2 c sherry with a couple of tbsp Dijon mustard thrown in and a bit of veggie oil. I trimmed the breasts a bit, poured over the marinade and let them sit about 30 minutes. I then baked them at 375F for 30 minutes or so. The smaller ones were a bit over 165F internal however I think cooking in the marinade helped keep them moist.

I just love this “risotto”. It’s very very flavorful.

The carrot cake recipe came from Alton Brown’s I’m Just Here for More Food: Food X Mixing + Heat = Baking as did the cream cheese frosting (with a bit of adaption for quantities). It was rather well received. I suspect I will make another batch in muffin form to bring to my brother’s house on Christmas day.

Leave a Reply

