Saturday night – 01/26/2008

Half the folks who normally join us for our weekly Saturday night dinner were away this weekend, including the regular attending vegetarian. When that happens I lean towards a meat integrated meal of some type like a stew or a casserole.

Ted’s Lamb Pie
“low-fat” Mashed Potatoes (see notes)

Cranberry Upside Down Cake

Notes
So the mashed potatoes are about as far from low-fat as they could be. To 3.5# of potatoes I added 3/4 cup of whole milk, 1/2 a stick of butter and about 3 oz. of cream cheese. The reason I call them “low-fat” is our friend Pam was on a diet at one point and was really digging a similarly created mashed potato dish. I jokingly said they were low-fat. I missed the fact that she had a second, and maybe a third, helping. Later that night I was telling someone what was in the dish and she gasp something along the lines of “I thought you said they were low fat”. Thus a lesson in properly (or improperly) executed sarcasm was given.

For the Cranberry Upside Down Cake I used the technique detailed in a Sept. 2004 Cooks’ Illustrated recipe for pineapple upside down cake. You probably need an account to view that recipe however.

I should have made some rolls or biscuits as there was plenty of gravy and the pie crust only went so far.

Leave a Reply

