Saturday night – 11/22/2008

The regular Saturday night crew was on hand, 12 strong, for dinner this week. I had picked up a bulk pack of center cut pork chops at BJ’s earlier in the week so I built the menu off of that.

November 22 Menu
Pan-grilled pork chops with Roast Garlic Vinaigrette.
Potato-Cheddar Perogies
Succotash

Freshly baked bread from ted_badger

An assortment of desserts were provided by miss_jenith


I brined the pork chops for about 4 hours in a mix of 2 cups salt, 1 cup sugar and 8 cups water. I added 10 black peppercorns, 3 juniper berries and 2 bay leaves as well. After the salt & sugar were dissolved I poured it all over the chops in a large storage container and set it in the fridge. I gave it a shake every hour or so to make sure some of the brine was touching all the chops.

To cook I rinsed the chops and patted them dry. I then heated a grill pan over medium-high heat, gave it a swipe with vegetable oil and put 4 chops in the pan. I cooked them for 2-3 minutes until they turned freely and then grilled for another 2 minutes on the second side. I removed them from the pan to a foil lined sheet pan. When all the chops had been grilled I put the sheet pan into a 350F oven for about 25 minutes. Final temp of the chops was around 145F.

Leave a Reply

