Saturday night – 10/16/10

ted_badger wanted braised beef this week so I built the rest of the menu around that. I’m reasonably happy with the way everything came out.

Menu
Beef Braised in Barolo (recipe from Cook’s Illustrated – pay to view, sorry)
Baked Potatoes with assorted accompaniments
Winter Squash with Herbs (recipe under the cut)
Homemade batards by Ted

Giant Cranberry Cookie


Notes
I doubled the amount of beef in the braised beef recipe from 3 to 6 lbs. to accommodate the number of people coming for dinner. Otherwise I followed the recipe from Cook’s. 3 hour cooking time was just about right. Wish I had started 30 minutes earlier though so it came out of the oven a tad sooner.

Baked potatoes – scrub & dry potatoes, poke with a fork, rub with olive oil, salt & pepper. Bake at 400$deg;F for ~1 hour.

Winter Squash with Herbs – based on a recipe found here. I used 2 delicata squash & 1 butternut squash we received from our CSA share. That added up to about 4 lbs. of squash. I increased the other ingredients slightly, maybe 25%.

To speed the cooking process I covered the squash and let it boil away. When a fork went in easy I pulled the squash from the pan with a slotted spoon. I started to reduce the liquid and eventually decided to just skip the “glaze” altogether. I think this was the right choice as the squash earned praise and I think the glaze would have been too sweet.

Leave a Reply

