Saturday Night – 01/29/11

We skipped a week to go to a poetry reading where a friend was the feature. We were back with a full house this week. Here’s what we ate…

Menu
White “chili” with cornbread (with or without chicken)
Green salad with roasted red peppers & “pickled” shallots

Gingerbread

While the recipe called this a chili it was more a baked casserole. It was really good though and will probably make another appearance somewhere down the line.

Notes

There were 12 for dinner (8 adults & 4 kids).

I made a double batch of the white “chili”, one with the chicken per the recipe, and the other with extra non-pureed white beans. I baked one in a 13″x9″ glass dish per the recipe and the other in a slightly larger glass casserole.

I added maybe half a bunch of celery, chopped, to the aromatics to add some more base flavor. After cooking down the aromatics I added the corn, canned chiles and pureed white beans. I then split this into two pots. One received the chicken. The other received a 15 oz. can of white beans, rinsed.

When tasting the stews before pouring into the baking dishes I decided they were a bit bland. I added probably a teaspoon of cayenne pepper to both plus some additional salt & pepper. At first I thought I had over seasoned with cayenne however the majority of the diners enjoyed it.

I could have used a bit more corn bread mixture to top both dishes fully.

After baking I brushed the top of the corn bread with a bit of melted butter for a bit of sheen (and a bit more flavor).

While the recipes says it would serve 10-12 I think 8 is more likely. We had a bit less than 1/4 left over.

For the chicken I bought bone-in split breasts, rubbed them with salt, pepper & olive oil and roasted them in the oven at 350°F. They baked for 35-40 minutes. I started checking the temp at 25 minutes and added 5 minute increments until the temp was in the 160/165°F range. I then let them cool a bit, separated the meat from the skin & bone and chopped the chicken up.

Ted did the “pickled” shallot. I know there was brown sugar involved. I’m not sure what else.

Leave a Reply

