Saturday night – 03/31/2012

We bought some really nice beer from Smuttynose Brewery last weekend. I wanted a meal that went well with beer so we’d have an excuse to drink it. 🙂

Menu
Bratwurst with onions & peppers
Crispy Roasted Potatoes
Roasted Asparagus
Cauliflower with Indian spices

Blondies

Notes
Almost a full house this week (8 adults & 4 kids).

I precooked the brats in the oven at 350°F for ~40 minutes in 2 pans. I added about 2 cups of water to each pan along with 3 small bay leaves and 6 or 7 juniper berries. I then browned them on a griddle so they weren’t so pale.

I cooked the onions & peppers separate from the brats so that they were vegetarian. I followed the recipe I used for caramelized onions some time back, adding 3 large green onions to the 4 large sweet onions I cut up.

Double recipe of potatoes. In the end they did come out very tasty. That said there were a lot of steps, as with many Cooks’ Illustrated recipes. Honestly I didn’t think they were going to become crispy however when I opened the oven to take the trays out the last time they had browned and crunchy.

I microwaved 1.5 heads of cauliflower with 3 tablespoons of water for 8 minutes; covered with plastic wrap. I then pealed back the plastic wrap, added a mix of garam marsala, ground cumin, ground tumeric, sweet curry powder and kosher salt. Recovered and shook to distribute. Microwaved for another minute and served. Hindsight tells me I should have added a bit of fat, maybe some melted butter.

Leave a Reply

