Saturday night – 04/07/2012

I asked one of the young ladies who comes to dinner what she wanted to have this week and she said apple sauce.  So here’s a menu with apple sauce.

Menu
Orange-marinated turkey tenderloin
Potato pancakes with apple sauce & sour cream
Roasted butternut squash with brown butter and sage
Steamed snap peas

Hot cross buns with currants and candied tangelo peel

Notes
Just seven for dinner this week (4 adults & 3 kids).

I like to mix up the proteins from week to week because chicken breast and pork loin get boring for everyone after a while. The turkey tenderloin was on discount and I remembered a recipe I made in the past where split turkey breast was marinated in orange juice. The recipe is from The Way We Cook by Boston Globe columnists Sheryl Julian and Julie Riven. I used the marinade from their recipe, letting it sit in the OJ for about 8 hours. I dried the tenderloins and seared them in a hot skillet for 2 minutes per side. Then I put them in a 350°F oven for ~40 minutes until the internal temp reached 165°F.

The potato pancake recipe is from The Joy of Cooking. I’ve yet to find a way to keep the potatoes from turning brown while you peel & shred all of them. They do return to a normal color when cooked so I guess it doesn’t really matter. I made a double batch and they were all eaten. Good thing we only had 7 folks for dinner as it would be far to time consuming for our regular cast.

The applesauce was from scratch and incredibly easy. I’ll get a recipe up for it later this week.

I peeled and diced a 3 pound butternut squash, tossed it in a bit of olive oil, salt & pepper, and baked it at 400°F for 30 minutes. I did this step several hours before dinner. Come dinner time I melted 4 tablespoons of unsalted butter over medium low and allowed it to brown. I snipped in 2 or 3 small fresh sage leaves and swirled it around the browned butter. I added the butternut squash cubes and allowed them to absorb the butter and reheat.

The snap peas were simply microwaved in their bag and served. I didn’t need 2 bags of them.

My husband Ted made the hot cross buns and we had them with butter for dessert.

Leave a Reply

