Saturday night – 06/02/2012

This past week was a bit crazy and I never found time to publish the menu from last Saturday.  So here it is for future reference.

Menu
Braised Boston Butt
Orzo Pilaf
Roasted Beets
Salad with Radishes, Fuji apple and Lemon Vinaigrette

Homemade shortcakes, fresh strawberries and whipped cream

Notes
Almost a full house this week (7 adults & 2 kids).

I set out to do something with turkey breast this week for a bit of a change. Unfortunately the store didn’t have sufficient quantities of the sale item so I sought something else. And nothing interested me. So I picked up a couple of pork butts and then tried to figure out what to do with them. After a number of searches I came across the recipe linked above and decided to give it a whirl.

When I use the crockpot I don’t want to do a lot of work. Searing meat may add flavor but it isn’t something I want to do at 9 a.m. on Saturday. This recipe fit the bill with the only real prep work being slicing onion and garlic.

The meat came out really nice, pull apart real nicely and didn’t dry out after serving. About the only downside I ran into was the remaining liquid was too salty to use as a condiment along side the meat. I’ll cut the salt in half next time and see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

