Saturday night – 06/09/2012

The weatherman promised clear skies tonight so I went for a grill menu this week.

Menu
Grilled Chicken Breast
Grill roasted carrots and onions
Roasted Brussels Sprouts
Mashed Potatoes
Homemade bread

Spice Cookie Bars

Notes
Almost a full house this week (8 adults & 3 kids).

One of the goals this week was to have as much prep done early since I planned on grilling the chicken and wanted to stay near the grill. All the veg was prepped by 5 p.m. and ready to hit the stove, oven or grill as needed.

The carrots and onions get a foil pack treatment I learned, geez, 35 years ago in Boy Scouts. It works just as well on the grill side of the gas grill as it did in a fire pit in the woods. On occasion I will add potatoes to the foil pack as well. I wanted mashed potatoes though so I left them out. A sprig of rosemary and some fresh thyme went into the pack along with 2.5 lbs. carrots, a sliced onion, olive oil and cracked black pepper.

I found the spice cookie bar recipe at Penzey’s while restocking our pantry this week. I couldn’t find it on their site. Assuming they taste as good as they smell I’ll try to post the recipe this week.

Leave a Reply

