Saturday night – 07/28/2012

Other Saturday events have kept us from hosting our weekly gathering so there hasn’t been a menu to share in at least a month. We hoped back into the grove this week.

Menu
Pressure-cooker pulled pork
Pasta, Pesto and Peas
Roasted Beets with candied tangerine peel
Sliced heirloom tomatoes, fresh mozzarella and basil
Ted bread

Homemade gingerbread for dessert

Notes
There were 9 for dinner this week (6 adults & 3 kids).

The pulled pork was loosely based on a recipe I found online. By loosely I mean I read the recipe and said, “Hey, those ingredients (ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, vinegar, brown sugar, etc.) sound like they’d be in this local BBQ sauce I have sitting around. I think I’ll use that.” I browned 6 lbs of bone in country style pork ribs. After emptying the excess fat I added 2 thinly sliced small onions, 3 cups of water and 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce. I scraped up the fond from the bottom of the pan and then added the pork back to the pan. Clamped on the cover, brought it to a steady but low hiss, and started the timer. I cooked it for 17 minutes, keeping the hiss steady and low. Turn off the heat, allow to sit for 30 minutes and then bleed out the remaining pressure.

We make the Pasta, Pesto and Peas at least once a year. It makes a lot, which is good for a big crowd. What is left makes a good lunch.

I’m happy that local tomatoes are available again. I sliced red and orange heirloom tomatoes about 3/8″ think and did the same with logs of fresh mozzarella. I layered the tomatoes and cheese on a round plate, tore some basil over the top and drizzled with a bit of olive oil.

Ted was in the mood for gingerbread and so we had it.

Leave a Reply

