Saturday night – 08/04/2012

Several factors went into this week’s menu.  I knew we would be away for part of the day so either a made ahead something or a let-it-cook-all-day something was needed.  By mid-week I also knew it was going to be a scorcher of a day so I wanted to eliminate the oven.  Our friend Tom’s birthday was this past week so I wanted to incorporate ingredients I knew he particularly likes.  Finally our friend who is a vegetarian is vacationing with her family on the other coast; while we miss her it does mean that menu planning is a bit easier.

Menu
Slower Cooker Chicken Cacciatore with egg noodles
Tomato and cucumber salad

Homemade ice cream cake

Notes
There were 8 for dinner this week (7 adults & 1 kid).

The cacciatore is based on this recipe from Campbell’s Kitchen. I used more meat, deglazed the skillet with the crushed tomato, skipped the cornstarch slurry and made a couple other modifications. I’ll post a recipe tomorrow or the next day.

The salad was tomatoes from our garden, halved, and diced cucumber that a coworker gave me. I tossed them with a bit of olive oil, salt & cracked pepper.

T’s wife brought the ice cream cake. She is amazing.  It was delicious.

Leave a Reply

