Saturday night – 10/13/2012

Another week, another Saturday night. I had intended to roast a boneless pork loin this week. I miscommunicated what I wanted to the clerk at the grocery store and ended up with a butchered just-for-me bone-in pork rib roast. When life hands you rib roast you make rib roast.

Menu
Shallot-Garlic Roast Pork
“Baked” Yams
Green Beans and Red Peppers
Braised Cabbage
Homemade bread

Hermits

Notes
There were 10 for dinner this week (7 adults & 3 kids).

The rib roast came out rather well though some felt it was too garlicy. I sort of followed this recipe from Cook’s Illustrated for timing and the flavorful paste. More having sufficient rosemary I made a paste with a shallot, 3 cloves garlic, fennel seeds, black pepper, salt and olive oil. Now the garlic cloves were on the large size however the original recipe called for 8-10 cloves and I knew that would be too much. Any way the 5.5 pound roast cooked up very nicely at 325°F in about 80 minutes. After carving the roast I put the bones back in at 425°F for another 20 minutes to crisp up the remaining meat. All told it was a success.

The quotes around the word “baked” is because I microwaved the yams first for 8-10 minutes (in batches of 5) to cook them. I finished them in a 425°F oven for 10 minutes to crisp the skin a bit.

I’ve made the braised cabbage before however I haven’t posted an actual recipe for it. I’ll try to put something up this week. It is quite good and a lovely purple color.

The hermit recipe comes from a great cookbook we have called The Way We Cook. Instead of making bars as the recipe suggests Ted poured the batter into a 13″x9″ pan. Very moist and tasty without the mess and effort of forming the bars.

Leave a Reply

