Homemade Sazon

A number of recipes I find from the Caribbean, Central and South America call for “sazon”. My friend Google offers this definition: A seasoned salt mixture used in Latin America and Mexico that often includes cilantro, achiote and garlic. A number of companies sell a pre-mixed blend in a handy package right in your grocers “ethnic” aisle.

The problem I have is that that those pre-mixed packages have so much sodium that they can overwhelm a careful attempt to moderate your sodium intake. Making your own spice blend at home is a handy alternative, especially if you are like me with an overabundance of whole spices.

Based on some web searching I came up with the following formulation. I left out the salt as I prefer to salt as I go. According to my research 1 1/2 teaspoons of homemade sazon is about equal to the amount of seasoning in one of those packets.


Homemade Sazon
Servings: 12 – 1 1/2 teaspoon portions
Prep time: 5 minutes
Total time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

  • whole black pepper
  • granulated garlic
  • coriander seed
  • cumin seed
  • dried oregano
  • annatto seeds

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a spice grinder or clean coffee grinder. Pulse until finely ground.
  2. Store in an air-tight container such as a spice jar.
Leave a Reply

