Christmas Eve Dinner 2012

Every year we have friends over on Christmas Eve for dinner. It is usually a subset of the group from our regular Saturday night gathering. We use it as a chance to present a slightly fancier meal than usual, with plated service instead of family style.

Menu
Hors d’oeuvre – Tomato-Rosemary Palmiers, picholine olives, cheddar, crackers
Amuse bouche – Beet-Pickled Deviled Eggs
First course – Butternut Squash Ravioli, Sage Brown Butter, Gingersnap dust
Entree – Pomegranate-glazed chicken thighs
– Smoked Paprika and Salt Crust Potatoes
– Creamed Brussels Sprouts with Bacon
Dessert – Gingerbread with mascarpone cream, sweetened whipped cream
Cranberry Sorbet
– Blackberries

Beet Pickled Deviled EggButternut Squash Ravioli
Pomegranate Glazed ChickenGingerbread with Cranberry Sorbet

Notes
I’m not sure what inspired the amuse bouche. I worked from a couple of different recipes to come up with something I wanted to try. I’ll post my version some time this week. I am tickled by the way they came out.

I was originally going to serve the raviolis with a buerre blanc sauce however Ted gave me a funny look when I mentioned it so I went with something less acidic. The gingersnap crumb accentuated the sweetness of the butternut squash without being too sweet.

Ted conceived of the idea for the entree. I brined the chicken thighs for about 4 hours in a mix of pomegranate juice, water, salt and sugar. He cooked them for about 40 minutes. He then glazed them and baked them for another 5-10 minutes.

I came up with a rough plan for the dessert, which we refined as we assembled it. The cranberry sorbet was a hit and a definite make again.

Leave a Reply

