Holiday Party 2013

A bunch of years back we started holding our annual Winter Holiday party in January. We get to keep the tree up a bit longer than most folks and it is a bit easier on everyone’s schedule.

Here’s our menu from last night. Comments below.

Apps
Bacon Turnovers (Savuer)
Tattooed Potato Tart (Pepperidge Farms)
Pesto Mozzarella Cups
Guacamole and tortilla chips
Baked Zucchini Sticks(King Arthur Flour)
Carrots and Sweet Onion Dip (see previous KAF link for the dip recipe)
Cheese, crackers, olives

Main dishes
Milk Pork (Laura Calder, French Food at Home)
Bulgar Risotto with Roasted Corn (Epicurious)
Butternut Squash with Baby Spinach (Wegmans)

Desserts
Poppy Seed Snacking Cake (Eggton Blog)
Chocolate Peppermint Bark
Fruit and Nut Bark
Brown Sugar Cookies (Cook’s Illustrated)
Stuffed Pumpkin Empanadas
Rum Balls (a gift)
Fig Cookies (Wegmans)

Notes
The bacon turnovers were the hit of the night. They were also the most work. I wonder how well they will freeze if made ahead.

The potato tarts were cute and tasty. Next time I’ll slice the potato just before making these. I sliced them well ahead of time and kept them in water. I think the washed off starch would have helped hold the potato to the puff pastry.

I’ll post the recipe for the pesto mozzarella cups sometime this week. Wicked easy, as my Rhode Island friends would say (circa 1995).

Ted makes a happening guacamole and it is very well liked. Luckily I save a bit for us to enjoy today.

The zucchini sticks were tasty with a good crunch when fresh from the oven. They certainly wouldn’t be confused with their deep fried cousins; the coating is sparser.

The onion dip was delicious. I served it with some baby carrots and it was mostly gone by the time the zucchini sticks came out of the oven.

The milk pork was delicious, moist and tender..

The bulgur risotto was probably the least consumed item of the night. I left the shrimp out to make it vegetarian and I left out the peppers for a friend with a pepper allergy. The pepper allergy friend didn’t make it to the party and I think the peppers definitely would have added something.

The squash and spinach dish received rave reviews from party guests. I used the Wegmans recipe as a guide however I did the prep myself. I’ll post my own recipe later in the week.

The cake came out great. It is one of the first I’ve made in the bundt pan that came out without difficulty. I added a lemon glaze for a bit of extra sweetness. It was tasty for breakfast this morning as well.

The brown sugar cookies are a favorite and are probably the richest thing we made. We saved a few for ourselves.

Leave a Reply

