Saturday night – 03/09/2013

I picked up a turkey breast before the last snowstorm thinking I would cook it up on Sunday. Instead we drove in the snow to Ikea. So I had this turkey breast sitting around and when Saturday night came into view I knew what was for dinner. Basically Thanksgiving dinner in March.

Menu
Roasted turkey breast
Herb dressing
Mashed potatoes
Gravy
Butternut Squash with Spinach and Cranberries
Cranberry sauce
Homemade bread

Notes
There were 7 of us for dinner this week (4 adults; 3 child).

The turkey breast was one rolled and then bound in a net. I roasted it in an oven bag which did a great job of capturing the juices. There was very little fat released so I made a roux of butter and flour and added the turkey juices and veggie broth to make a gravy. It was a bit thicker than I wanted to I loosened it with some milk before serving.

Leave a Reply

