Honey-glazed Rutabaga

I was looking for an alternative preparation for rutabaga; boiling or roasting get a tad boring after a while. A bit of web surfing brought me to a dead link for “honey rutabaga” and eventually I found Honey-Honey Rutabaga. I have not idea what that name means however I thought I’d give it a try.

Here’s my take on it with a bit of tweaking and rewritten in my own words.

Honey-glazed Rutabaga
Servings: 10-12
Prep time: 30 minutes
Total time: 50 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 3 lbs. rutabaga, peeled and cut into 1″ cubes (give or take)
  • 4 Tbsp. Rye Whiskey
  • 4 Tbsp. unsalted butter, cut into small cubes
  • 4 Tbsp. honey
  • 2 tsp. candied tangerine peel, chopped fine
  • kosher salt and cracked black pepper

Directions:

  1. Place the rutabaga in a sauce pan and add water. Fill the pan so that the rutabaga is covered by at least 1″ of water. Add about 1 Tbsp. kosher salt to the water and heat over high heat until it comes to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and cook for 15-20 minutes. Check periodically to see if you can pierce a largish piece with the tip of a paring knife. If you can reach the center the piece with a minimum of pressure then it is done. Drain and hold.
  2. Wipe the sauce pan clean with a paper towel. Off heat add the whiskey, butter, honey and tangerine peel. Return to medium heat and stir until the butter melts. When all ingredients have combined cook at a slight boil until the sauce thickens slightly.
  3. Return the rutabagas to the pan and toss to coat with the sauce. Taste, add salt and pepper to taste. Serve and enjoy.

Notes:
I’ve found that the best way to “peel” a rutabaga is to split it in half and then “shave” off the peel with a chef’s knife. A vegetable peeler usually doesn’t work well for me.

I’m a home cook. While I try to make my cubes 1″ square they often range anywhere from 1/2″ to 1 1/2″ with a bunch of odd bits from the rounded parts of the vegetable. Cut yourself some slack (unless you are asking someone to pay you for your cooking, then make it pretty).

The original recipe called for the unspecific “whiskey”; I used Russell’s Reserve Rye because it is what we keep in the house. You could substitute something like apple juice if you wanted to skip the booze.

Leave a Reply

