Saturday night – 06/08/2013

It’s been almost a month since we hosted our regular Saturday night gathering. We went away for a couple of weeks and celebrated a birthday last week. It was nice to get back into the kitchen and cook for just our close friends again.

Menu
Spinach Artichoke Chicken (or SpinArt Chicken as I named it).
Baked Spanish Rice
Glazed Carrots
Savory Pink Beans

“Best Rhubarb Dessert” (from King Arthur Flour)

Notes
There were 8 of us for dinner this week (5 adults; 3 children).

The SpinArt chicken was quite tasty. It was a bit watery though. I think in addition to squeezing the spinach I need to squeeze the artichoke hearts after chopping them. I probably used a cup of mozzarella as I had an partial bag in the fridge and wanted to use it. The kids certainly liked it so that’s an endorsement of sorts. My version of the recipe to follow.

I made a double recipe of the Spanish rice and have maybe 1/3 left. I see a variation of these rice patties some night this week.

The carrots and beans were good.

Dessert was a hit. It ended up being a rhubarb and mixed berry with biscuit sort of thing. I served it with vanilla ice cream.

Leave a Reply

