Saturday night – 10/05/2013

A birthday request inspired part of the meal this week.

Menu
Chicken and Sausage Bake
Mashed Potatoes
Sauteed Summer Squash with Onions
Fresh Corn with Leek and Red Pepper

Asian Pear Sauce Cake

Notes
There were 9 of us for dinner this week (6 adults; 3 child).

The Chicken and Sausage Bake is based on Nigella Lawson’s One-Pan Sage-and-Onion Chicken and Sausage. Shorter marinade time, different mustard, delicious results.

The husband isn’t a fan of summer squash so I don’t make it often. This is a preparation I grew up on though and as summer winds down I wanted to make it with local fresh vegetables once more before everything has to fly 1000s of miles to reach me.

I tried a variation on my Sauteed Corn with Leeks recipes this week. After cutting the corn off the cobs I scrapped the cobs on a box grater. This released much of the “milk” and some lovely bits of corn kernel. I cooked that in about a cup of heavy cream, sauteed the leeks and red pepper in butter and then combined everything (cream corn, sauteed vege and corn kernels) in a big pot to cook. Great corn flavor with a hint of cream corn. It’s unclear to me where the heavy cream went because the liquid when I served it was quite thin.

Ted made the Asian Pear Sauce cake with some of the leftover sauce we made last week. Quite tasty.

Leave a Reply

