Saturday night – 11/02/2013

I decided to make a fairly simple menu with week. Everything could have been cooked in the hour before our friends arrived. I made the chili a couple of hours early so it could simmer on the stove to blend and meld flavors.

Menu
Veggie Chili
Yellow Rice
Cornbread

Gingerbread

Notes
There were 11 of us for dinner this week (7 adults; 4 child).

The chili is roughly based upon this recipe I posted last year. I tried a slightly different approach to the chile flavor. I toasted and rehydrated 3 ancho & 1 casabell chile peppers. I then blended the chiles with 4 garlic cloves, about 1/3 cup of the liquid I used to rehydrate the chiles and 1 Tbsp. dried Mexican oregano. I strained the resulting compound to remove the skins. I used this in place of garlic & chili powder from my original recipe. The flavor was more subtle than the ground chili powder.

I made the yellow rice with achiote oil. Achiote oil is made by simmering annatto seeds in oil for ~5 minutes over medium-low heat. I used 1 Tbsp. annatto seeds to 1/3 cup peanut oil. Strain the seeds from the oil. You should end up with an orange-yellow colored liquid.

Leave a Reply

