Saturday night – 11/09/2013

A third of our regular group was missing this week making for a slightly simpler menu than usual. So, of course, I decided to try 2 new dishes just to keep things interesting.

Menu
French-style Pork Pot Roast
Roasted Parmesan Paprika Potatoes
Rutabaga and Carrots with Honey-Whiskey Glaze
Ted Bread

Homemade chocolate pudding

Notes
There were 8 of us for dinner this week (7 adults; 1 child).

The pork pot roast came out very nice with a great garlic flavor. Alas, some of our guests thought it was a bit too garlicy. Next time I’ll experiment with a different flavoring for the butter spread on the interior of the butterflied pork loin. I used a 4# roast which the butcher kindly butterflied for me. I can do it but this was faster (and, honestly, probably cleaner).

The potatoes were inspired by this recipe. I tweaked the ingredients a bit and changed the method. I liked the results though I wish they had come out a bit crisper.

Leave a Reply

