Saturday night – 02/02/2014

I rarely get a chance to cook a Thanksgiving-like dinner in November. My sister-in-law handles the family duties. Various obligations and traditions make it impossible for our regular get together. And let’s face it, most of us are sick of turkey once the holiday itself, and the leftovers, are done.

This week I saw a thawed turkey at the grocery store while picking up provisions for our weekly get together. The rest is tasty history.

Menu
Roast Turkey with gravy
Herbed Stuffing
Mashed Potatoes
Roasted Carrots

Apple Crisp.

Notes
There were 10 of us for dinner this week; 8 adults and 2 children.

The turkey was excellent if I do say so myself. I started it at 425°F, breast-side down, for 30 minutes. Then I flipped it breast-side up, reduce the temp to 350°F and cooked it for another 90 minutes. The result was golden and tasty.

Leave a Reply

