Easter Sunday 2014

My mom and sister joined us for Easter lunch today. With a small number such as this a full ham dinner seemed a bit much. After batting a few ideas back and forth Ted and I settled on an old favorite.

Menu
Braised Dark Meat Turkey
Buttered Egg Noodles
Roasted Asparagus
Green Beans and Tomatoes

Bull (Portuguese Sweet Bread)

Carrot Cake Trifle, for dessert

Notes
I made the turkey Saturday afternoon. After letting it cool while we went for ice cream (a crucial step in the recipe I assure you) I pulled the meat from the drumbone and then played hide and seek with the pin bones. There are 5 or 6 in each drumstick. I discarded the bones, transferred the sauce and turkey to a storage container, and stuck it in the fridge overnight. Sunday, about an hour before eating, I placed the turkey and sauce in an oven-safe dish and put it in a 300°F oven.

My mom brought the green beans and tomatoes.

The bread recipe is from my great-grandmother and it has always been called bull in my family. It is a slightly sweet, anise flavored bread. It is assembled and kneaded the night before, left to rise overnight and then formed into small round loaves.

My sister brought the trifle, which was delicious.

Leave a Reply

