Saturday night – 05/17/2014

A long overnight upgrade for work didn’t take nearly as long as expected so I was back at the helm of the Saturday night cookery this week. Our friend with a dislike for cheese and cilantro wasn’t joining us and Ted had been hinting at enchiladas for months.

Menu
Cheese Enchiladas
Baked ‘Spanish’ Rice
Blackened Chicken Thighs
Sliced Avocados
Baby Spinach and Radicchio Salad with Tangerine Vinaigrette

Spice Cookie Bars

Notes
9 gathered for dinner this week (6 adults; 3 kids).

I changed up my enchilada assembly method this go around and it seems to have aided in the structural integrity issue I’ve previously experienced. Instead of dredging the corn tortillas through the sauce I spooned 2 tablespoons of sauce on the tortilla and spread it like you would for a pizza. Add cheese filling, fold into a tube and place seam side down in the baking dish. I ladled some of the remaining sauce over the rolled enchiladas and baked immediately. The recipe has evolved enough from the original that I’ll probably post it later this week.

(I thought) I was running late so I didn’t take the time to trim the excess fat from the chicken thighs before slapping them on the hot grill and closing the cover. 5 minutes later there were flames emerging from the cover and very blackened chicken thighs. I flipped them, cooked 4 minutes and then shoved them into a warm oven to carry over to 170°F. Not bad.

Ted assembled the salad and had the idea of shredding the radicchio. It was a nice contrast to the spinach leaves. We added quartered radishes and red/yellow cherry tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

