Saturday night – 08/02/2014

Long time no Saturday night gathering.

Menu
Slow-Cooker Pork Loin (see notes)
Pasta with Pesto and Roasted Cauliflower
Pinto and and Black Beans with Tomatoes
Homemade Rolls

Yogurt Bundt Cake with Blueberries

Notes
13 gathered for dinner this week (10 adults; 3 kid).

I saw a recipe for a slow-cooker pork loin and thought it sounded interesting. I used a similar technique to the recipe however I left the beans and tomatoes out so I could make something vegetarian friendly with those ingredients later in the day. Sadly the pork loin did not cook through after an hour nor after 1.75 hours. So I moved it to the oven, which was hot from making the cake. It still wasn’t up to 160°F when it was time to eat so I violated a principle and microwaved the sliced up loin to complete the cooking process. It ended up a bit tough though still fairly tasty. Next time I’ll either start this much earlier in the slow-cooker or just use the oven for the whole process.

The rest of dinner came out great and I tried a trick with the bundt cake that made it practically slip out of the pan with ease. I’ll share it when I write up the recipe. All I can say is thank you Martha Stewart.

Leave a Reply

