Saturday night – 09/13/2014

The weather turned cool this past week which, while a pleasant relief from the prior weeks hot & steamy weather, was a bit of a surprise. I’m not ready to turn on the furnace though I didn’t mind pulling on my favorite flannel shirt. In any event the cool weather made me long for comfort food. A friend’s birthday, and favorite dishes, helped narrow down the menu.

Menu
Beer steamed bratwursts with onions
Potato and Onion Perogies
Succotash
Braised Cabbage

Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Notes
11 gathered for dinner this week (7 adults; 4 kid).

I used a steamer basket to elevate the brats & onions so they didn’t sit in the beer. I think it helped keep the brats from tasting too boozy.

The cabbage was a heartier variety than I have used in the past and even with 30 minutes of cooking (and the addition of some water to prevent burning) it still wasn’t close to being cooked through. A couple of minutes in the microwave helped however it was still tougher than I would have liked.

Leave a Reply

