Saturday night – 10/11/2014

No kids this week and a smaller than usual group made for a relaxed afternoon; at least for me. Ted cooked the main parts of the meal while I experimented with dessert and tackled the oh so difficult task of boiling water for noodles. Ted also showed me how to make his focaccia. I might even remember a bit of it.

Menu
Country-style pork braised with red wine and orange
Buttered Egg Noodles
Stir-fry carrots, onion, peppers and celery
Focaccia

Butternut Squash/Apple Cake with candied tangerine streusel

Notes
7 gathered for dinner this week (7 adults; no kids).

As I mentioned Ted made the majority of the meal this week, working without a recipe or a net. Both the pork and the stir-fry were tasty. Their respective juices flavored the noodles quite well.

Dessert was a surprise. I had leftover roasted butternut squash. Google found me 12 Perfect Fall Desserts Made with Winter Squash, one of which seemed to fit what was in my head. Crystallized ginger was not to be found at my local mega mart though so I used some homemade candied tangerine peel that Ted made back when tangerines were in season. The result was surprisingly moist with the squash basically disappearing into the cake.

Leave a Reply

