Saturday night – 10/18/2014

Sometime during the week I decided a meat-free dinner was in order this week. After bouncing a few ideas around in my head I asked Ted if he would make his vegetarian chili. He uses roasted poblano and cubanelle peppers as the base, keeps the kidney beans as a side note, adds tasty things like barley malt extract and porter for flavor and thickens it with lentils. Some fairly plain rice adds a bit of bulk and a fallish salad filled out the menu.

Menu
Ted’s Vegetarian Chili
– optional avocado, sour cream, raw onions and cheddar cheese
Baked White Rice
Green Salad with Apples, Radishes and Toasted Walnut with Pomegranate Vinaigrette

Reese’s Gooey Cake Bars

Notes
12 gathered for dinner this week (9 adults; 3 kid).

Dessert was a weird little recipe I found via social media. It was a hit but so packed with sugar I think I’m still a little cranked up from the 2″ square piece I enjoyed last night.

Leave a Reply

