Saturday night – 01/24/2015

Smaller group this week due to wintery weather in our area. I don’t, apparently, know how to cook appropriate amounts of food and so we have lots of leftovers. Which is good since we are expecting more wintery weather later this week.

Menu
Chicken and Sausage Bake
Black Beans and Rice
Sauteed Corn
Homemade Focaccia

Cream puffs with caramel, chocolate ganache and whipped cream

Notes
8 gathered for dinner this week (5 adults; 3 kids).

I get in this bad habit where I think I know what is in a recipe and then fail at purchasing the ingredients for same. This week I forgot sage for the chicken/sausage bake and tomato paste for the black beans and rice. I improvised with oregano for the meat dish; it was OK but not nearly as tasty. I added tomato puree in place of the paste; again it just wasn’t the same.

Leave a Reply

