Saturday night – 06/27/2015

Ted mentioned that we hadn’t had rice with pigeon peas in a while; I looked back and the last time I noted it for Saturday night was in 2010. Sadly my go-to recipe, from Daisy Martinez, fell off the interwebs. I found a couple of sites that look like they used her recipe and gave it a go. The result was pretty tasty. I’ll add my take on it in a future recipe post.

The rest of the menu was built around the rice.

Menu
Chicken thighs with mushrooms
Arroz con Gandules (rice with pigeon peas)
Roasted Carrots with Turmeric and Cumin
rustic boule (store-bought)

Pound Cake w/fresh strawberries and whipped cream

Notes
5 gathered for dinner this week (5 adults; no kids).

The carrots were based on this recipe and were pretty good. I thought they were a bit gritty and believe I should have ground the cumin/coriander seeds finer after toasting. I skipped the fresh mint.

Ted made one heck of a pound cake.

Leave a Reply

