Saturday night – 11/07/2015

A week of unusual fall weather (mid-60s, even 70+ one day) lead me to think that some grilled chicken was in order. Went with something a little different and turned the grilled chicken thighs into taco meat. Many found the chicken tasty; I’m happy with the results.

Menu
Achiote Grilled Chicken Thigh Tacos
– with shredded lettuce, avocado, salsa and sour cream
Black Beans and Rice
Roasted Acorn Squash

Turkish Delight Squares

Notes
12 gathered for dinner this week (8 adults; 4 kids).

I intended to make a marinade involving achiote paste and OJ. Store-bought achiote paste is simply achiote (maybe oil, maybe ground achiote) mixed with solid fat such as lard. So I tried to make my own paste and ended up with a very liquid mixture. I used that as the marinade and it worked pretty well. After a 2-3 hours rest in the marinade I grilled the thighs for 5 minutes on a side. It was probably the last planned grilling of the year.

I sprinkled a bit of Yucatan spice blend on quartered acorn squash and roasted them at 400°F for an hour. They were quite good though a bit of fat could have helped I think.

Ted made something like a lemon square but with sesame seeds and colored sugars for dessert. It came out nicely.

Leave a Reply

