Saturday night – 11/21/2015

This week I had a vague idea of what I wanted to make however I didn’t have time to create a grocery list. I ended up wandering around the meat section like a lost soul for 10 minutes staring at the various cuts of poultry. We tend to favor chicken dark meat over the white-meated breast; it has more flavor and is more forgiving of overcooking. Still the package of chicken breasts called to me and a small plan formed in my head.

Menu
Pan-seared chicken cutlets with onions and cider gravy
Orecchiette with Chickpeas
Sauteed Shredded Brussels Sprouts
Herbed Quick Bread

Apple Pie with ice cream

Notes
12 gathered for dinner this week (8 adults; 4 kids).

For the chicken I turned the whole breasts into something closer to a cutlet by halving the breasts horizontally. This gave me a thinner piece of meat and also a flatter one. I seasoned these with a mix of kosher salt and Penzeys’ Mural of Flavor spice blend and then seared both sides in hot skillet with about a tablespoon of vegetable oil. After about 5 minutes on each side I transferred the chicken to a rimmed half-sheet pan that had some red onions scattered on it. Every 2 batches of seared chicken I deglazed the skillet, first with chicken stock and second with cider. I transferred the deglazing liquid to a measuring cup. When all the chicken was seared I covered the pan with foil and put it in a 350°F oven until the chicken reached 160°F, about 15 minutes. I returned the stock/cider to the skillet, added slurry of 1 tablespoon potato starch combined with 2 tablespoons of water and simmered for 3-4 minutes.

The orecchiette are an old favorite. I like it because it is a starch and a side all in one.

I’ve seen a couple of examples of the shredded Brussels sprouts on cooking shows of late and thought I would give it a try. Relatively easy prep, fast cooking time and good flavor. Look for a recipe sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

