Saturday night – 12/12/2015

Smaller, for us, gathering this week so I was able to make use of one of my favorite appliances, the slow cooker. I spent 10, maybe 15, minutes on the prep for the main dish, tossed it all in the slow cooker and walked away to do other things.

Ted’s co-worker provided the radicchio and the kale came from the food co-op to which we belong.

Menu
Pork Loin with Pears and Cherries
Toasted Couscous with Toasted Pine Nuts, Parsley and Thyme
Braised Kale and Radicchio
Homemade Bread

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Notes
9 gathered for dinner this week (8 adults; 1 kid).

The pork came from the cookbook Slow Cooker Revolution by America’s Test Kitchen. As I said in my intro it was quick to get started. The cooking time in the recipe was 3.5 to 4.5 hours. I checked it at 3.5 hours and it was already at 160°F so I pulled the pork from the pot, let the pears and sauce sit on warm for another hour and then finished that off when I was ready to slice the pork. The sauce was really nice, not overly sweet.

Couscous is so simple I really should make it more often. I’ll get a recipe up for my version soon.

We saw the strawberry pretzel salad being made on an episode of Cook’s Country and the original recipe was available for free on their site for a few days so I saved a copy. The one I linked to above appears to be from the same source. Ted said something like ‘this has more steps than the pyramids’. In my opinion, it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

