Saturday night – 03/04/2017

Another birthday request dinner this week and a group favorite indeed. Breakfast for dinner is almost always a hit; this combination always delivers for us.

Menu
Buttermilk Pancakes
Oven-baked Bacon, Turkey Sausage
Blueberry Sauce, Real Maple Syrup plus Pancake Syrup for those of us who prefer the taste
Fruit Salad (Watermelon, Papaya, Pineapple and Fuji Apple)

Chocolate Whoopie Pies

Notes
13 gathered for dinner this week (8 adults; 5 kid)

I have been making Alton Brown’s Good Eats “Instant” Pancakes for longer than I’ve been recording our Saturday night dinners. They are consistently delicious. As is typical for Saturday night I made 1 1/3 times the base dry mix and then made 4 batches of pancakes. I think I ended up with 56 (4″) pancakes in total, all of which were consumed.

I followed King Arthur Flour’s recipe and used a small disher for portioning the cake portion. I used the classic two-spoons method of distributing the filling and then spread it with a small offset spatula. I thought the filling was quite tasty, no overly sweet despite the powdered sugar and Marshmallow Fluff. It spread easily. It could make an interesting frosting in place of my usual butter cream.

Leave a Reply

