Saturday night – 05/04/2013

Sorry for the lack of posts over the past couple of weeks. We were away the last two Saturday nights and our weeknight cooking was lackluster at best.

Spring may have sprung back in March but it was only in the last week or so that the temps were consistently high enough for me to believe Spring had arrived. The forecast for today had the temp near 70°F so I got it in my head that I should grill something. Add in a missing walnut allergy and I had enough to go on to form a menu.

Menu
Grilled Chicken Breast
Spinach Walnut Penne
Chickpeas and Tomatoes with Oregano
Homemade bread a la Ted

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cookies

Notes
There were 9 of us for dinner this week (6 adults; 3 child).

I marinated the chicken for about 2.5 hours in a mix of lemon juice & zest, finely chopped rosemary, salt, pepper and vegetable oil. I grilled them for about 10 minutes per side until they reached 165°F.

The pasta dish was based on this recipe though I think I significantly changed it to match what I had on hand and our personal tastes.

The chickpea dish is based on my chickpea side dish with fresh oregano in place of the thyme.

The cookies were tasty, maybe a bit rich. They were certainly a bit floppy and could use a bit more structure.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.